Skip to content

DIY – chandeliers

二月 20, 2009

I have always liked chandeliers. It can be that one dominating element defines the mood of a room. Chanderliers are elegant, expressive, and massive. I think it works the best when the there is a big contrast between the room and the chanderlier itself, in style, color, or contour complexity.

The sad part is that chanderliers are expensive. I will never spend hundreds of dollars on one (at least not in the next 10 years). For our neat and simple living room, I was invisioning to spice it up with a beautiful retro styled chandelier. After couple days of looking around, I realized that we couldn’t afford one. So this is what I did. It took me 4-5 nights of work, about 1-2 hours each night.  The most challenging part is making it as symmetrical as possible with free hand drawing.

1 2

Here are some other cool DIY chandeliers I found on the web. Pretty inspiring stuff. Hope you will find them inspiring also.

Dram lamp by Propellor, made from vintage tumblers

Dram lamp by Propellor, made from vintage tumblers

Silverware!

Silverware!

wine glasses!

wine glasses!

CD cases!

CD cases!

socket chandelier!

socket chandelier!

The Chiquita Chandelier

The Chiquita Chandelier

Recycled glass chandelier

Recycled glass chandelier

Paper Clip Lamp, handmade from over 4,000 little clips!

Paper Clip Lamp, handmade from over 4,000 little clips!

It turns out, I actually know people who worked on this photograph. What a small world! Now I can give each of them credit =]

The Photographer was Adam Chinitz. Assistant was Christopher Annis (my friend, check out his website!). The Room design is by Drake Design.

4条评论 leave one →
  1. 二月 20, 2009 3:31 下午

    Pretty cool all the designs!

  2. Christine permalink
    二月 20, 2009 9:53 下午

    wooow rene the one you made is awesome! it’s super classy. 🙂

    i also really like the recycled glass chandelier. candles are awesome by default!

  3. 三月 11, 2009 2:23 下午

    I really like the one you made but all of them are nice. Very high-quality stuff there.

  4. 七月 25, 2009 12:55 下午

    Hi- I love the DIY chandeliers- thought i would add my own:

    http://picasaweb.google.com/thyrza/Lamps#

发表评论

