跳至内容

81st Academy Awards and more

2月 23, 2009

this year, i felt a drift from Hollywood films and Oscar nominees in a good way. So called Hollywood style is now blended with indie and international styles more than ever. It’s like the globalization of film industry while snapping more experimental stuff with it.

Slumdog Millionaire is a good example. A British film with British director and screenwriter, based on a Indian novel, the mean character as British actor and mixed with other Indian actors/actresses, filmed in Mumbai, and mixed western film with Bollywood style. The result is… the Awards told it. I do love the movie, but at the same time, a part of me feels it is overrated in the States (a little but no quite the same way that Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon was overrated). I feel most US audience are not exposed to indie films like this, but there are many indie films with equal quality, creativity and impact somehow were never flown down to general audience. Hope this film has waken up the separated film industries, and inspire more collaborations. it’s the era for mixed breeds.

Wall.E is the best animation film I have ever seen in a LONG time. Very very happy for Pixar.

Here are couple of US films of 2008 that I love but didn’t get nominated for Oscar. and surprisingly, they don’t fall into my normal taste of films.

Also Oscar is Oscar, I wouldn’t hang myself around it too much, as I don’t judge a film only based on IMDB rating, especially for international films.

No doubt, this is a super controversial film. Two thumbs up to Bill Maher for just making it. Not mentioning how witty every line is. It’s very entertaining to watch. But I can imagine how offensive it is for some people.

This movie surprised me. Directed, produced and acted by Clint Eastwood. This is also his last film. He wins the lifetime achievement award in my heart.

This is a must-see! But have to warn you to process/filter what you see in the movie well before taking it in. Just super interesting stuff.
my to see list (realizing i am behind, haha):

3条评论 leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    2月 23, 2009 3:36 下午

    Really liked Gran Torino and Milk. I will check out your other movie recommendations 🙂

  2. 2月 24, 2009 3:51 上午

    Watch In Bruges! It’s oh so delightfully snarkily unconventionally funny. But Ponyo on the Shore was rather disappointing in actuality, cause it lacked any real substance. Man On Wire is supposed to be amazing–I still need to watch it.

  3. 2月 24, 2009 12:57 下午

    i agree hollywood is changing. i’ve only noticed it since last year and i think it’s a good change. it actually makes me pay attention to the big movies, which are no longer just blockbuster action films.

留下评论